Sailor Uranus

Sailor Uranus

COSTUME: Sailor Uranus

SOURCE: Sera Myu (Sailor Moon Musical

WORN AT: Ichicon 2009, London MCM Expo May 2009 & UppconXII

COSTUME INSPIRATION

Ever since I was a little girl Sailor Moon has held a special place in my heart, so when I re-discovered the anime at 16 I was hooked! I read/watched/inhaled everything Sailor Moon that I could get my hand on, which wasn’t that much to begin with. After a year of rolling around in the glory that is Sailor Moon, I stumbled across the musical versions, and my life changed. I loved all incarnations of Sailor Moon, but the musicals are very, very dear to me. Sailor Uranus has always been an inspiration to me, she’s a strong and fantastic female protagonist, someone to be proud of emulating. This, coupled with my love for two of the Sailor Uranus actresses Takagi Nao & Sanae Kimura, meant that cosplaying Sailor Uranus has been one of my most fun and personally important to date!

CONSTRUCTION NOTES

I’d like to start out with saying that I had a lot of help with this costume, both from my mother when it came to the gravity-defying collar, and general construction tips from Katie at poro-poro.com. It wasn’t as difficult to construct as you might think though, each skirt is made up of two cotton circle skirts pleated to oblivion (again, get a good movie going!), the bodice is made from white jersey-cotton, and the bows from gold lamé. The golden trim is a special type of mylar, which was hand-sewn onto the costume. It is possible to machine-sew, I just preferred doing it by hand because it’s a bit neater. The brooch, earrings and necklace gem is made from metal and beads, and the tiara was purchased from Catzia.

PHOTOS

Leave a Reply

